WidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationRepackbox
Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionTitan ReloadingSnyders Jerky
RotoMetals2 Load Data

Thread: Tumble lubing with my JPW mix

Tumble lubing with my JPW mix

I've been using straight JPW to lube my 45 acp bullets for a couple of years now, it works great and I like the way it dries hard. I had an idea late one night (I think an Ambien was involved), when I was going to lube some bullets and let them dry overnight in the garage. My can of JPW was almost empty when I got the idea to try and mix it with mineral spirits to make a liquid. I added the mineral spirits a little at a time and I'd put the lid back on the can and shake. I ended up with a liquid that looks like liquid floor wax and was the consistency of tomato soup. I've been using this liquid like you would LLA; squirt, shake, then dry on wax paper. And just like LLA a small amount goes a long way. When I used straight JPW it always seem to leave a coating that was thicker than necessary. Now I get a thinner layer of wax that dries quickly with no stickiness. After they dry I size with a Lee push through die, but I don't apply a second layer of lube after sizing. I put the bullets back in the lubing container and I squirt them with a small amount of mineral spirits, then shake the container really well and dump the bullets on wax paper. The mineral spirits help to redistribute the wax back onto the O.D. of the bullets without adding any unnecessary lube. So far I haven't had any problems with leading and I had two of my friends try my bullets with the same results.
    "We have federal regulations and state laws that prohibit hunting ducks with more than three rounds. And yet it's legal to hunt humans with 15-round, 30-round, even 150-round magazines." Senator Dianne Feinstein (D-California)

Interesting information. Thanks for posting.

Tumble lubing with my JPW mix