WidenersTitan ReloadingLee PrecisionRepackbox
Snyders JerkyReloading EverythingInline FabricationLoad Data
RotoMetals2 MidSouth Shooters Supply
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: New guy with some luber sizer questions

Boolit Mold

New guy with some luber sizer questions

I am just getting into casting and reloading (thank you S&W 500). I know the rcbs is not as good as a star but with funds being tight its seems like a good option. I have an opportunity to get one at a scary price, so cheap I could sell it used at a profit. I have used the search feature, and it looks like the RCBS is a good unit with the occasional issues.
    1. Will the RCBS size and lube the 500? I have seen punches for it, so I'm assuming it will. Will the Star size 500?
    2. Should I buy the RCBS and use it while i save the difference. Then sell the rcbs to fund the Star? Orth oils I just pan lube till I can afford the Star?Like I said I can get the RCBS so cheap I can sell it at a good price and still make a profit.

Any opinions are appreciated.

Banned

get it and use it.
    if necessary you can get lathesmith or buck shot to make you a sizer.
    I have three stars and quite often miss my old lyman for some stuff.

Boolit Grand Master

"RCBS is not as good as the Star" - I have multiple Stars and an RCBS, I
    disagree with this statement. The RCBS is DIFFERENT, NOT "not as good".
    Both are high quality machines.

IMO, the Stars are wonderful, but fussy to set up, so mine get set up for
    LARGE runs of the same boolit or very similar (like single lube groove, same
    diam). The RCBS is slower, but extremely easy to set up for an entirely
    different boolit size and ESPECIALLY number of lube grooves.

Unless you will be sizing and lubing very large quantities at a sitting,
    you will never miss the Star.

Bill
    If it was easy, anybody could do it.

Boolit Grand Master

Quote Originally Posted by MtGun44 View Post
    you will never miss the Star. Bill