Reloading EverythingInline FabricationRepackboxLoad Data
Titan ReloadingLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2
Wideners Snyders Jerky

Thread: thinking about casting for shotguns, couple of question.

Boolit Mold

thinking about casting for shotguns, couple of question.

Hi guy's,im new to reloading and casting, iv never cast or reloaded for shotguns and i want to reload slugs for my 12 gauge. Remington has stopped selling what was in my opinion one of the best slugs ever the 3" buckhammer, and i haven't found any other slug im happy with so i want to make my own but i have a couple questions. 1. Can i use my 3'' remington 00 buck hulls, i have alot of these lying around. 2. Can anyone tell me how accurate the lyman 525 gr flat nose slugs are when loaded correctly (im shooting out of a 24" rifled barrel). 3. Where do i find load data for shotguns, 4. Just how powerful can i make a reloaded slug without blowing up my gun and 5. What kind of alloy is best for slugs, i have alot of ww will this work. Like i said i really know nothing about casting for/reloading shotgun shells and before i learn and buy all the equipment i want to make sure what i want is possible (a very hard hitting decently accurate slug). If iv posted this in the wrong place im sorry. Thanks to anyone who can help

Boolit Grand Master

I can't answer all your questions but will give some a go:

1. Can i use my 3'' remington 00 buck hulls, i have alot of these lying around. Can't answer this one without some investigation. Maybe someone else has first hand experience. If you can find load recipes to suit them then yes.

2. Can anyone tell me how accurate the lyman 525 gr flat nose slugs are when loaded correctly (im shooting out of a 24" rifled barrel). Again, no first hand experience but reports are quite good from rifled gun all the way to 100 yards. A lot will depend on slug/wad to barrel fit.

3. Where do i find load data for shotguns, Get yourself some slug reloading manuals!