Snyders JerkyRepackboxWidenersLoad Data
MidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationLee PrecisionRotoMetals2
Reloading Everything Titan Reloading

Thread: Keith molds

Boolit Buddy

Keith molds

I am new to casting, and in the process of assembling the tools. I need Keith style molds for .44 and .45, I was thinking about ordering the RCBS K-250 SWC and the 45-255 SWC two cavity molds from Midway , anyone use these and if so what do you think of them? also it looks to me like the .45 mold is only available in .454 dia, does this sound right? can the bullets be sized down to .452 with a LEE sizer? thanks

Boolit Master
    I don't know beans about .45 casting but have the RCBS 250K.

A grand bullet.

One problem is that with such square corners ..... it's a pretty "technical" mold ...... Ie. you will earn your stripes.

Rather than lose all your religion at once also buy the six cavity Lee for Tumble lube. Use these for plinkers and "teachers". You could save some money by buying the two cavity and they are easier to manuever for a newbie but later on you will miss the output of the six holer.

But most of all: Welcome to the forum and to casting ...... may your stay in both endeavors bring you much good!

Three 44s

Boolit Master

The traditional .44 Kieth is the 429421

I get good results with the 429421, but I get better results with the Thompson bullet: 429244. They are both about the same weight. The Thompson bullet is more expensive because it takes a gas check.

The RCBS .44 bullet is very similar to the 429421, but I have never cast any of them. I have the mold, just never gotten going with it.

I have no experience with the .45 Kieth bullet.

CDD

Boolit Master