Reloading EverythingInline FabricationLee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingLoad DataWideners
Repackbox MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: marlin preferance of bullet 45-70

Boolit Buddy

marlin preferance of bullet 45-70

I'm new to casting, do appreciat quaility though. I need advice on a bullet mold for an xlr marlin. I like the look of beartooth/lbt type bullets, have a ranch dog and read good things about RCBS 405s. I want to stay in the trap door range of performance, 1200-1700fps. Mostly plinking a deer on occation. Anyone have preference between LBT, Rcbs, Hoch 405 fp gc? or would 300 rcbs gc be a better choice? I'm looking to do a lot of off hand shooting and not classic benchrest type shooting. Been though that with 30-06s and my hunting is in the thick anyway.

Boolit Mold
    I've got the Ranch Dog 350gr mould and can't imagine a better 45-70 bullet! That said I've shot a lot of the Lee 340grPB and if you keep them under 1400fps or so they've shot great, no leading and a bit cheaper without the gas check. Lee liquid alox is the only lube I use, give them a couple coats.

I loaded up a bunch of 405 grainers that clock in at 1,600 from my long barreled Marlin CB.
    They are punishing to shoot without a big jacket on or a kitchen hot pad on your shoulder.
    However, they are great for hunting. I've shot a couple of deer with them. When hit low on the shoulder bone, they get flipped right off thier feet, and the lungs look like red oatmeal.

If I had it to do again, I'd have gotten a 300-ish grain mold for my 45-70 instead of the 405.

Ohhh--
    Something that's a hoot is load the 405 with 70gr. of real 'black powder' for rifles.
    They come out of mine at 1275fps, no pressure signs at all, and are pleasant to shoot.
    Yeah, its a unholy mess and a hassel with the extra cleaning & all, but sure is fun too.

Last edited by Winger Ed.; 12-02-2007 at 04:43 PM.
    In school: We learn lessons, and are given tests.