Inline FabricationTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders Jerky
RepackboxWidenersRotoMetals2Lee Precision
Load Data Reloading Everything

Thread: Lubes for Cowboy Loads

Boolit Mold

Lubes for Cowboy Loads

Hello all,
    I am fairly new to casting and have a question about what lube would be best. I want to cast plain base bullets for a .44 special revolver and a .44 magnum rifle. If both are going to used at mild cowboy load velocities (probably Trailboss-type loads) what bullet lube would be best. I have the Lee Alox lube that came with my sizing die. Would that be sufficient or should I use a different type and pan lube? Also, what is the best way to use the liquid alox effectively without overlubing? Thanks for any and all help!

Boolit Grand Master
    LLA will work fine. Search this site for Felix lube or Bens Red for a couple others that would work well.

To avoid over application of LLA I would suggest a search for 45/45/10 lube. Essentially you heat Johnson's paste wax til just melted and hold it there for about 20 minutes. Then add an a equal amount of LLA. Once mixed well remove from heat and add about 10 percent mineral spirits. This mix works well and dries much faster the straight LLA. Add enough to barely give a color to the bullets when tumbled. I suggest adding about 1/2 the amount you think is enough. Tumble well then set out to dry. Size then recoat with another light coat. It should look like a light coat of varnish and not anything more.

Boolit Master
    You can lube them with LLA and won't a little smoke be good for the cowboy games?. If you don't have a Lubrisizer, I'd be inclined to use the LLA. Follow the directions on the Youtube film. Another alternative in Johnson's paste wax. A very clean alternative to LLA.
    Alox film:
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=xG2MFQL8oLU

Johnson's Paste Wax Film:

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=miKeCJ2X6zs

Welcome to Cast bullets! Best forum for cast bullet shooters ever..

Boolit Buddy