Load DataLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading Everything
RotoMetals2WidenersInline FabricationTitan Reloading
Snyders Jerky Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Why are Lyman Moulds in such demand

Boolit Master

Why are Lyman Moulds in such demand

I just got into casting a few months ago, but I've been reloading for a few years now. I've been watching the prices on moulds from Lyman and RCBS on this sight and cannot believe what they are going for. Midsouth sells new moulds for $58 and change and people are snatching the ones on on the swap out section for $50 or more w/ and w/out handles. What is going on that I'm not catching on to? I could see half price or even $30 maybe $40 for moulds, $50 w/ handles....But people are buying these things up like hot Kryspy Cream Doughnuts for $50....I did get Lee moulds to try this casting thing out and when they give up the ghost, I'll get some better quality ones, but why would someone buy a used mould for so much when new is only a few dollars more?

bhn22
    Lyman is the standard in casting, and their molds are in demand. Their quality isn't perfect, but they eventually try to make their customers happy. Honestly, there's no way you'll get a really good quality used mold for half of new. They usually run about 75% to 80% of new in lean times. Right now there's a bullet shortage, and people who will never melt lead are buying molds, just to have them in case things get worse. Couple that with the buying power of the credit card, and the answers pretty obvious.

Boolit Master
    Have you happened to notice if the new molds are actually in stock?
    Have you happened to notice that some of the molds are no longer produced in that
    number. ie, I have a single cavity in 225462 and when it was a stock item, was also made in
    2 cavity. If I want to upgrade, I have to find one used. You will also need to add to that catalog