MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyLoad DataLee Precision
Titan ReloadingWidenersRotoMetals2Repackbox
Inline Fabrication Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 5 12345 LastLast

Thread: What magazines are tried and true for the 1911?

Boolit Master

What magazines are tried and true for the 1911?

Not trying to start a massive debate with brand loyalty, but I just ordered a GI Milspec RIA 1911 and don't know where to start. I understand cheap mags can be a waste of money, so I don't mind spending good money for good quality. Thanks

Love Life
    Wilson Combat Service Plus.

-The End.

I've got the same question....

I have used "cheap" GI mags with no real issues, but I don't think they will hold up over time. I have a Wilson combat that works great if I only load 7 into it. (It holds 8.) When I put 8 into it, it has to be pushed hard to lock it into the gun. (This is not the magazines fault, it is mine.)

I also have a couple of Kimber magazines that work well.
    I'm a Happy Clinger.

Love Life
    #608 1911 Wilson Combat Service Mag Plus.

It's a 7 rd magazine (gasp), and has the correct profile for feeding your 1911 reliably.

Love Life
    Colt factory magazines are also very solid.

Boolit Master

There's a lot of different makes on the market and most work very well in most 1911's. I think I have run most of them at one time or another but settled down to the Wilson 47D and several years ago I also added the Tripp mags and have never experienced any problems with them. They are on the expensive side but doing it right the 1st time always saves you money in the long run. Took me a few years to figure that out.

You will need to change out springs every so often but that is what I consider part of normal maintenance.

The 8-rounders slip up and lock in very easily when the slide is open - on a closed slide one needs to rap/push it pretty solidly, otherwise it will probably either cause a mis-feed or fall out after the 1st or 2nd round.