RotoMetals2WidenersInline FabricationTitan Reloading
Load DataLee PrecisionReloading EverythingRepackbox
MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: 358 Win - Muzzle Blast with Short Barrels and Reduced Loads?

Boolit Master

358 Win - Muzzle Blast with Short Barrels and Reduced Loads?

I just got a 24" barrel in 358 Win for my Savage model 11. My plan is to shoot reduced loads to cull small deer at 150 yds or less. In full power loads I know a shorter barrel means a greater blast but I have no experience shooting this caliber or heavier, slower bullets. I'd like to cut this barrel back to 20" to make it handier and lighter. Anyone have any experience with this? Thanks.

Boolit Grand Master
    Here is my Ruger # 1 custom , 358 Win, it has a 20 inch barrel. It is a fast handling rifle in the woods.

I've never noticed a severe problem with muzzle blast with my rifle.

Boolit Master
    Nice rifle, Ben. Thanks for the info. What loads do you shoot with it?

Boolit Grand Master
    I've shot everything from 8.5 grs. of American Select and a 158 gr. plain base .358 " cast bullet. ( One ragged hole with 5 rounds at 40 yards ) to wide open ( near factory dup.) loads.

If I were to do it all again, it would be 20 inch barrel again. My idea of building this rifle was to shoot cast bullets out of the rifle exclusively.

Many of the powders that I use are relatively quick burning propellants like 2400, RL - 7 , H-335 , etc. As a consequence, most of the powder is burned in a 20 " barrel. If I were shooting IMR-4350 and powders of similar burn rate, the flash and noise would be horrible.

Depends on the loads that you select. Your selection will have a great influence on muzzle blast.

Ben
    Last edited by Ben; 11-28-2013 at 12:03 PM.

Wow the wood on that #1 almost knocked my eyes out. That is one fine rifle.

Boolit Master