Snyders JerkyWidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplyRepackbox
RotoMetals2Titan ReloadingInline FabricationLoad Data
Lee Precision Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Newbie to 30 M1 Carbine

Boolit Master

Newbie to 30 M1 Carbine

I have been reading this site and searching the net, but I still have a few questions. I am getting setup to reload for a Quality H.M.C. U.S. Carbine cal 30 M1 with a serial of 4,638,xxx. I have been reloading for 20 years, and I now know enough to ask questions and learn from other people's experiences. Yep, at 32 years old I don't know it all

I have loaded 9,40,45, 38 spl, 44 mag, 45 colt, 460 mag, 223, 30-30, 30-06, and 243 so far. I have used roll and taper crimps and I have learned what the wrong crimp will do. I have cast boolits for other guns as well.

This project will use boolits from WW mixed with what I think is Linotype. The mold is an RCBS 30-115-SP mold. The boolits drop at .310-.311. I have .308 and .311 dies for my RCBS LAM I. The .311 die gives me a bullet that is roughly .310. I may have to beagle my mold if I want .311. Lube is White Label C Red and I am using Hornady copper gas checks and will later use some aluminum checks.

Dies are RCBS carb. size, Lee expansion die for 30 M1, and RCBS seat die.

I will start out using my Hollywood Universal Turret cast iron press, until I get the conversions for my Dillon 550. I have a lyman electric case trimmer to use until I get a CTS trimmer for 30 M1.

Brass is mixed. I have small rifle, small rifle mag, and cci 41 primers. I may start with 11.0 grains of 2400. I have not used 2400 before.