Titan ReloadingLoad DataRepackboxMidSouth Shooters Supply
Inline FabricationSnyders JerkyWidenersLee Precision
RotoMetals2 Reloading Everything

Thread: Turkeuy Fryer Smelting Fail!!!!

Boolit Master

Thumbs down Turkeuy Fryer Smelting Fail!!!!

I've been smelting using an old plumbers pot for about 30 years. It's a real hassle getting it filled these days. I have to drive 25 miles to a commercial yard and be there between 8:00 and 8:30 AM. A real PIA.

So I paid $20.00 for a turkey fryer at a yard sale and a buddy gave me a 4 qt. dutch oven. Filled it about half full with indoor range scrap, put a sheet metal ring around the pot.....3.5 hours later.....No melted lead!

Any ideas? Can you get different burners for these things.

Guess, I'll be getting up early in the morning.
    How's that hope and change working for you?

Do you have any pics of the burner?? Not trying to be a wise guy but was the burner air adjusted, burner turned up etc... The only other thing would be the regulator?
    45 ACP because shooting more than once is just silly!!

Democracy is two wolves and a lamb voting on what to have for lunch. Liberty is a well-armed lamb contesting the vote.

Boolit Master

It is probably a clogged regulator or improper gas to air ratio as stated above.

Tip: It should roar like a jet engine if it is working right. It takes no more than 10-15 minutes to smelt 60-70 pounds in my 7 quart dutch oven on my turkey fryer. If the flame is yellow, something is wrong. My flame is loud and all blue when cranked up to full power.

Banned

It takes so little to smelt, here are two guys with a Mickey Mouse set-up, bottom cut off an office waste paper basket and a Coleman single burner propane stove, and showing us all how easy it is to smelt with simple equipment found around the house at around 5:40 of the video.
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gh4mdoR4Tdk
    Last edited by jmort; 08-19-2013 at 08:32 PM.

Boolit Master