RotoMetals2WidenersLoad DataSnyders Jerky
Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingMidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading Everything
Inline Fabrication Repackbox
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Opinions on the best reasonably priced bottom pour pot

Boolit Master

Opinions on the best reasonably priced bottom pour pot

I have had a Lee production pot IV that has served me well for a few years. In fact, It really got me hooked on casting. I recently got a huge surprise when I began a casting session by getting a full pull of 110v for a couple of seconds. I posted a thread, and it seems that others have had the same problem from their lee pot because of either a heating element short or a thermostat malfunction that caused a reroute of current.

I have been thinking about buying another bigger pot for a while, and since I am not an electrician, I plan on sending the ol' girl to the bone yard.

I am just looking for some opinions on what is the best pot to buy for my needs. I don't blow through thousands of rounds a month, but I do look forward to hour long casting sessions. The lee pot heats up quick, but since it was only a 10 pounder, I spent alot of time refilling and waiting for temperature stabilization. Here is what I am looking for: at least a 20 pound pot, bottom pour, and some sort of ledge to rest the mold on that is adjustable. Any and all advise is appreciated.

RCBS Pro Melt has all those things. It is a little expensive, but should last you 30 years or more, not just a few years. I bought one of them. I started with the Lee Production pot IV. The RCBS is way better. I don't consider the RDBS pot a waste of money.

Boolit Master
    I have had my eyes on one of those babies for some time, but I just can't afford one right now. I'm really looking for something in the 150-200 dollar range, and the cheapest I have found the pro melt for was 380.

I like my Lee 20 lb pot. I use my Lyman more but the Lee is fine.
    J
    "The .30-06 is never a mistake." Townsend Whelen