RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyWidenersReloading Everything
Titan ReloadingSnyders JerkyLoad DataRepackbox
Inline Fabrication Lee Precision
Page 1 of 4 1234 LastLast

Thread: Hunting only with cast Boolits

Hunting only with cast Boolits

Curious as to who switched over to using only cast boolits for hunting and what caliber?

Boolit Master

For handgun hunting big game I currently only use one caliber .44 mag/ special. I have been using only cast for a few years. It started by accident, went to hunt hogs and grabbed 2 boxes of shells which were supposed to be .270 gr Speer golddots. Over a heavy dose of h-110. They turned out to be 265 grain gas checked cast also over h-110. Long story short, hogs died. Good accuracy good penetration and nastry wound channels. I've been sold since. Deer and pigs so far but all have died real quick like.

Boolit Master
    Switched over sometime in the early 1970' (?) when Pa. started the flintlock season. I became disenchanted with suppository guns. Used .50 cal. then....soon realized rifled guns wasn't all they were cracked up to be and went to smoothbore. A CenterMark .62 at first...then a .75 Brown Bess..and a steady procession of others since. I've been happily pokin' holes thru deer with 65gr. of 3fg ever since (roughly...100?) and using shot in the same guns for small game. I did use my fathers mdl.70 I inherited to kill 1 deer back in...2007 I think it was. (jacketed) These fellers piqued my interest in revolvers and last year got my first flatland grizz (groundhog) with a Ruger in .45 colt. Only took 30 shots! In the past year I've melted 300lbs. of galena into 38/357/44/45/45-70 boolits. I still don't cotton much to suppository guns. Audie...the Oldfart

Boolit Grand Master