Lee PrecisionSnyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters SupplyWideners
Inline FabricationRotoMetals2Titan ReloadingLoad Data
Reloading Everything Repackbox
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: thinking about lever gun.....but have questions.

thinking about lever gun.....but have questions.

Hello all, I recently bought my first revolver a 44mag S&W 629 classic and though I haven't started casting for it yet I will be soon. Well now I want a 44 mag lever action rifle, but I dont know anything about them. I am a 1911 guy and always will be, I love my 45's. I have no experience with lever action rifles and really dont know where to start or what to look for or avoid. A quick internet search and I have found that there are several calibers to choose from in a lever action rifle but I know I want it in 44 mag. I plan on using this gun for a little of everything, from hunting hogs, to light 44 special loads for the kids and grand kids to plink with when they are old enough to do so, to punching holes in paper, as well as another gun that can be used for home defense (though I do have a shotgun that would be first choice for that scenario). I see most have 20 inch barrel others 24, is there an advantage to 24 over 20 inch? From the little research I have done I seem to be drawn to the Marlin and Henry Big Boy but I am sure there are other out there I have yet to even find.

Will I be able to cast the same boolits in both my 629 and rifle or are there differences that will require a mold for the 629 and another for the rifle? I welcome any and all comments, as I said I have no experience with lever action rifles so I want to learn all I can so in a few months I can make a wise and informed decision on what to get. I would really like to hear from those who have or had several different lever action rifles, of 20 ad 24 inch barrels, and particularly in 44 mag. I have had other questions answered here on the forum by you fine folks and I know I will learn a lot, thanks all.