MidSouth Shooters SupplyInline FabricationTitan ReloadingReloading Everything
RotoMetals2RepackboxSnyders JerkyWideners
Lee Precision Load Data
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: put your favourite Trapdoor loads and boolit here.

put your favourite Trapdoor loads and boolit here.

I'm looking for a nice original Trapdoor to shoot. I have no experience yet with these rifles. BP is very difficult to get here so smokeless loadings are welcome. (please feel free to include BP loadings)

How suitable would the Mihec HB group buy mould be? Do they prefer heavy or perform better in the 400 gn area?

Pics of groups, reloads and rifles welcome!!

Perma-Banned

I use a 400 grain Lyman mold with a plain base. They are pan lubed and loaded with 60 grains of blackpowder. I use a .060 overwad a cookie of spg and then a wool wad underneath the bullet.

Mine shoots great with Lyman #457125 cast from 20:1, lubed with Emmert's lube, loaded over 70gr. KIK FFg droptubed and compressed to allow the boolit to seat to the right length.

I am one of those old style guys who won't shoot smokeless in a trapdoor or other rifle designed for black powder.

As for BP availability, if you are where UPS can get to you then BP is easily available.

-Nobade

Start with this and you can't go wrong:

http://www.4570book.info/

Nice Original Trapdoor and Smokeless do not belong in the same paragraph.

Shoot the Nice Original Trapdoor with what it was intended to shoot, soft lead and a full case of slightly compressed black powder. No scale needed. Drop tube helps a lot before compressing.

Best results here with hollow base Lee mold 459-405-HB as dropped, on top of 66gr FFg compressed .216, 2.52 oal and crimp.

18:1 mix
    5.22%sn, 94.8%pb, 10.1 BHN

Hi Vel:,1387
    Low Vel:,1361
    Ave Vel:,1377
    Ext Spread:,26
    Std Dev:,10

Above with original 1884 45-70 slugged at .458.
    Last edited by RobsTV; 02-17-2013 at 11:01 AM.

Boolit Master