Lee PrecisionInline FabricationTitan ReloadingWideners
Reloading EverythingRotoMetals2Snyders JerkyMidSouth Shooters Supply
Repackbox Load Data

Thread: Lyman or RCBS and the alloy used

Boolit Bub

Lyman or RCBS and the alloy used

I am new to casting. I am looking for a 230 grain 45 round nose for my 1911. I am trying to decide between these two manufacturers. I have heard Lymans cast undersize. But I have also heard that depends on the alloy you are using. I do all casting so far with wheel weights. I do not know about alloys. Do the RCBS molds cast bigger than Lyman with wheel weights?

How hard is it to make other alloys? Should I switch to the "proper" alloy and just what is that? The scrap dealer I was at to buy the wheel weights only had wheel weights and scrap lead like used to cover telephone wires. He did not have any of the type setting kind of lead. Maybe he may have that next time I go there. I also do not want to make this more complicated than it needs to be. I like nice simple wheel weights.

I would like to order a mold pretty soon so I can cast before it get hot this summer.

Confused,
    HH

Boolit Buddy
    I have both and really don't pay much attention to size as I cast very soft mix for my bp pistols and rifles, as well as my magnum revolvers. I do like the Lyman molds for the setscrew on the sprue plate screw to prevent it from loosening.

Boolit Grand Master
    If I am buying a two cavity mold, I buy RCBS.