RepackboxTitan ReloadingLee PrecisionRotoMetals2
Inline FabricationWidenersReloading EverythingLoad Data
MidSouth Shooters Supply Snyders Jerky

Thread: Help for a newer reloader

Boolit Buddy

Help for a newer reloader

sorry if this is in the wrong area- but I just see reloading equipment, or Cast loading...

hi!

often I find partial boxes or, in this case, some .223 53g tracers and would love to just load um up and shoot some "tin cans" .

Is it safe to just load starting loads and not worry bout working up? I'm still a bit new to the reloading game and only done ladders to work up loads, and this usually takes at least 100-200 rounds I'm lucky.

but when ii find a partial box of Speer 277's for 3 bucks I'd sure rather shoot um then spend all of them working for they most accurate load with the highest velocity?

thanks!
    Chris

for example here is the US Military load spec for the .223 tracer i've got a handful of.
    WC 844- 28.5
    or IMR 8208M-25.3
    or CMR 170 26.5

OAL 2.26
    chamber pressure 52,000
    projectile weight 54gr

thinking about this, this is a bad example since the data isn't a max load or a minimum load... The "listed military spec" load is 95% of the SAAMI "commercial" load (55,000) and 84% of the max 5.56 "military" load.

in summary- to just load up a handful of rounds is a "safe" rule of thumb to a) just load the minimums? B) step up 2-3 rounds to say 95% max? C) ???

Thanks!

Boolit Master
    First of all, for me highest velocity is not always better. I just try to work up the most accurate load within my parameters.

To answer what I think is your main concern; for me, I don't feel comfortable starting at 95% of max, especially with a high power rifle. More like, mid-range and down, IF it is a powder that I am familiar with. If it is a new powder, then I definitely start at the lowest and go from there.

Hope this helps.
    TEAM HOLLYWOOD

NRA- LIFE TSRA-LIFE SASS-LIFE

Boolit Master