RepackboxLee PrecisionInline FabricationLoad Data
Snyders JerkyRotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyReloading Everything
Wideners Titan Reloading

Thread: .17 loss of accuracy question

Boolit Mold

.17 loss of accuracy question

Any body experienced a loss of accuracy in their hmr or mach 2. Got an idea that I'l explain if i see that my loss is common or due to my deteriorating eyesight.

Boolit Master

My experience in accuracy loss was cured with cataract surgery.
    I suggest that you have your eyes examined to see if that could be your problem.

Boolit Mold
    Ok so much for the drama. I have noticed a decrease in accuracy from my cz .17 mach 2. it always shot best with remington bullets. didn't like hornady or cci. now doesn't shoot less than i" at 50 yds. I have always cleaned it the same way that i cleaned my 22's. i studied the bore and it has raised rifling like a center fire rifle not like the flat rifling in a 22. Since the bullets for the .17's are jacketed, could i have a copper build up problem, and would it be safe to use a copper cutter to clean the gun. I'm worried about etching or scratching the bore with anything stronger than hoppes. or am I way out in left field.

Boolit Grand Master
    Copper build up makes sense to me.

I never bought a .17; and I think I may have shot all of twenty rounds of .17 HMR out of three different rifles; so take it for what its worth.

Robert

Boolit Grand Master
    Hoppe's will slowly dissolve copper fouling. Leave the bore moist with good old #9 for a couple days, and see if after that time whether the patches drag out some robin-egg-blue gick for ya.

Copper fouling is as likely an explanation for accuracy deterioration as any other reason.