RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyStainLess Steel MediaInline Fabrication
Lee PrecisionTitan ReloadingADvertise hereGraf & Sons

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast
Results 41 to 60 of 95

Thread: Automating the Master Caster - Another way to skin the cat

  1. #41
    Super Moderator


    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    3,488
    Good to know. I use what I got on hand mostly

  2. #42
    Super Moderator


    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    3,488


    I think this is the last update till tappers
    V 7.0

    Fixed a minor bug I made when I switched over to touch screen.

  3. #43
    Boolit Master

    jroc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    MI./FL.
    Posts
    320
    I'm not to tech savy so understand that when I ask questions that are obvious to others. Just what all does the this display screen allow you to do? Do you still need computer to write program? Is program still wrote on computer and display used to change portions of program such as duration of sequences? I am interested in automating a Master Caster and my already air assisted Star but don't know anything about the programs. Hatch do you sell the control units all set up? jroc
    My Straight Shooters thread:
    http://castboolits.gunloads.com/show...raight-Shooter




    Texan Loadmaster Model T, Lyman All American Turret, Forster Co-Ax,

  4. #44
    Super Moderator


    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    3,488
    The touch screen allows you to control all of the timers that are in the Plc program. Also allows virtual switches so you can control the fan and other features




    You still need to program the Plc itself.
    The entire control panel with 3 air valves is gonna run around $900 give or take
    That doesn't include a pid controller.
    That's another $100 for the 1/32 sized one with thermocouple
    I just built one for a guy and it ended up being less cause I located a used touchscreen that worked fine.
    Have to crunch the numbers for a firm price.

    You still need the air cylinders
    Last edited by HATCH; 11-19-2017 at 09:25 AM.

  5. #45
    Boolit Master

    jroc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    MI./FL.
    Posts
    320
    I can order all the pneumatic parts for air assist per wyman's design. I am definetely interested in doing this. I will PM my email addy. jroc
    My Straight Shooters thread:
    http://castboolits.gunloads.com/show...raight-Shooter




    Texan Loadmaster Model T, Lyman All American Turret, Forster Co-Ax,

  6. #46
    Super Moderator


    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    3,488
    You need to get the double acting air cylinder instead of the spring return. That's the 5inch one.
    I have made improvements over the years to improve functionality.

  7. #47
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    818
    That panel looks good, not cluttered at all.

    I'm with Hatch, double acting cylinders are a better option. Wyman's original setup works, and works well but you get a little more control with a double acting cylinder.

  8. #48
    Boolit Master

    jroc's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2012
    Location
    MI./FL.
    Posts
    320
    Yes I agree that is a nice looking panel. The cylinder was one of the questions I was going to ask Hatch about as early on in I believe it was wymans thread, hatch had changed to the double acting cylinder, hatch answered that question before I even talked with him. I am looking really looking forward to this. jroc
    My Straight Shooters thread:
    http://castboolits.gunloads.com/show...raight-Shooter




    Texan Loadmaster Model T, Lyman All American Turret, Forster Co-Ax,

  9. #49
    Super Moderator


    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    3,488
    This is the standard panel


    Only difference is that you have a indicator for run mode and stop mode.
    The switch that has both modes can only indicate one mode. I picked run.
    The. Sub panels both look identical.

  10. #50
    Boolit Master jmorris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,920
    Glad to see you are now a master of the Click PLC and Cmore micro, what do you charge for whipping up a program?

  11. #51
    Super Moderator


    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    3,488
    Depends on what your trying to do.

  12. #52
    Boolit Master jmorris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,920
    I already owe you (at least one) and have other stuff ahead of play. Let me know when you need some knockers for your tapper.

    Like your PLC work, took me weeks to figure out what I did.

  13. #53
    Super Moderator


    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    3,488
    The delay for me was just finding time.

  14. #54
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    818
    You are not alone with the lack of time...... I haven't even looked at my MC for a few months. The weather over here is starting to cool down, the perfect time to cast. I have a mate that wants a few thousand .38 158SWC, so i will dust the machine off in the near future and hopefully get the tappers sorted out.

    I'm sure i'm not alone with projects that just keep piling up that take priority over time in the shop playing with their casting machines.

  15. #55
    Boolit Master jmorris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,920
    Quote Originally Posted by HATCH View Post
    The delay for me was just finding time.
    Yep, I put off my project for years until my Daughter was born. Glad I took the time to learn and set up what I did when all she did was eat, sleep and poop. Because I don't have the spare time I did back then for sure.

  16. #56
    Super Moderator


    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    3,488
    New addition.
    Cycle counter.
    This can be added to any panel



    EDIT - for reference this option isn't available any more because its built into the touchscreen programming now.
    Last edited by HATCH; 11-19-2017 at 09:26 AM.

  17. #57
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    818
    How is it wired? just power from the lead pour or main activation ram solenoid?

  18. #58
    Super Moderator


    HATCH's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2008
    Location
    Lexington, SC
    Posts
    3,488
    I paralleled the limit switch. Every time the limit switch closes it counts. The machine doesn't need to be in run mode. It just needs to be powered up.

  19. #59
    Boolit Master
    Join Date
    Oct 2013
    Location
    Brisbane, Australia
    Posts
    818
    Gotta love simple. I like the fact it isn't an electronic timer too.

    Mine is digital and if/when something went wrong, you have to reset it and the timer resets.

  20. #60
    Boolit Master jmorris's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Posts
    3,920
    Cool, could really church it up and make it count for both single and double cavity molds.

Page 3 of 5 FirstFirst 12345 LastLast

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  
Abbreviations used in Reloading

BP Bronze Point IMR Improved Military Rifle PTD Pointed
BR Bench Rest M Magnum RN Round Nose
BT Boat Tail PL Power-Lokt SP Soft Point
C Compressed Charge PR Primer SPCL Soft Point "Core-Lokt"
HP Hollow Point PSPCL Pointed Soft Point "Core Lokt" C.O.L. Cartridge Overall Length
PSP Pointed Soft Point Spz Spitzer Point SBT Spitzer Boat Tail
LRN Lead Round Nose LWC Lead Wad Cutter LSWC Lead Semi Wad Cutter
GC Gas Check