Inline FabricationReloading EverythingSnyders JerkyTitan Reloading
Lee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataWideners
RotoMetals2 Repackbox
Page 1 of 10 12345678910 LastLast

Thread: Free chex vs Pat Marlins check maker

Boolit Master

Free chex vs Pat Marlins check maker

Has anyone used both? Which worked best for you? I'm just getting into loading cast with GC and was thinking about getting a checkmaker of some sort and don't really know which way to go. Thanks for any help.

Boolit Buddy
    A quick Google search will help you.
    Here's just one result
    http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7NrZ1paz8UE
    tj

Free Chex is readily available, cost less and produces a finished gas check with each stroke and cuts from the edge of a sheet of metal. Pat Marlin's device may take 11 or more months to get, costs more than Free Chex, requires precision width strip, requires cutting disks then individually placing said disk centered in a forming die; a tedious operation which often produces an out of round check.

I use my Free Chex in conjunction with an arbor press but understand they can be used by tapping with a hammer. I had one PM device but sold it. Have 2 Free Chex and can make a seasons worth of gas checks in an hour per caliber.

I own 2 of each and have to say they are both really nice. Pat (checkmaker) and Charlie (freechex) invented these tools and they must be very skilled machinist and also very smart. They both work great and do as advertised. From what I have seen, both of these guys stand behind their products and go above and beyond to insure customer satisfaction. Pats checkmaker tool is the only one that will make checks for plain based boolits. You can use aluminum cans or similar material and the check swages onto the boolit really well. These pb checks really did improve accuracy and reduce leading.