RotoMetals2Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionInline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyTitan ReloadingLoad Data
Wideners Repackbox

Thread: WW cast weight variation

Boolit Mold

WW cast weight variation

I am a newbie caster, and have a question. I am using a straight ww alloy. I am using an RCBS 45-270-SAA mould. Now as I understand it, that mould should cast a bullet whose weight is in the area of 270 grains. Mine are weighing in at 284-286 grains. Am I screwing the pooch or is this normal?

It's not uncommon. In fact, I don't think I have ever cast a bullet that weighs what the mold makers state.

Boolit Mold
    I just got a bit concerned when the weight was 15 or so grains over the stated weight.

Boolit Master

Unless your using that specific alloy, molded under those specific conditions(ie: air temp, mold temp, alloy temp, etc) there will be variations.

Boolit Master

My RCBS 45-250 cast out at 268 gr with WW's, the harder the alloy the lighter it will be because of the tin and antimony.
    God Bless America
    US Army, NRA Patron, TSRA Life
    SASS, Ruger & Marlin accumulator

rroberts,
    IIRC, RCBS specs out thier pissola molds from 1:10 tin/lead. WW usually have a much lower percentage of tin so will usually run a little heavier, in your case about 5%. This will vary some depending on the exact composition of your wheel weights, casting technique, and phase of the moon (or something). Nothing to worry about unless the weight difference from an earlier batch is bothersome. Then you get into big batch blending techniques.
    Rick

In Remembrance

Pleasant Valley, NV, 400 yd. N of Galena Creek
    Hornet, guessing from your location, is your avatar a woodchuck? Looks a lot like California ground squirrels found in a lot of California and Nevada. They are also found around and under my house. When found in the open, these sage rats often find out just how accurate a CZ .22 LR is.