Titan ReloadingLoad DataRepackboxRotoMetals2
Inline FabricationWidenersReloading EverythingSnyders Jerky
MidSouth Shooters Supply Lee Precision

Thread: Sizing 30 cal bullets for a .308 win.

Boolit Mold

Sizing 30 cal bullets for a .308 win.

As I have said in other sections of the forum, I am brand new to casting and am reading everything I can before actually getting started.

I will start off casting boolits for a .308 winchester to be used exclusively for hunting Whitetail in North Carolina. I have gotten lot of good info from all of you concerning what molds and alloys to start with, and I thank you for all of it.

In reading the "Lyman cast bullet handbook" and "Jacketed Performance with Cast Bullets", I have gathered that I am probably going to need to do some experimenting to determine what diameter boolit will work best in my particular rifle and what sizer die will work the best.

I am wondering what a good starting point would be? If the mold is supposed to cast to .309", should I start with the .309" die and just be ready to grind the mold if that ends up being too small? Should I try the .311" sizer and basically use unsized boolits in most cases? Should I bite the bullet and have a larger diameter mold made? What size boolits do ya'll use for your 30 cals? I have heard/read anything from .309"-.311".

In Remembrance
    If it were me the first thing I would do is cast a few up and take note on the size it comes out of the mould. Use a couple of those to find out what your barrel diameter is at the chamber and another one for your size at the muzzle.

All rifles are not created equal in this instance, your going to have to find out what yours like. My bore checks out at .308 and uses .309 boolits just fine. Yours may not that's where patience and notes help a fellow out.

I hope you have an accurate way of checking the diameter of you boolit when you pop it out of the barrel. And it would be a good idea to know what mould it is you plan on using.