MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataInline FabricationRepackbox
Snyders JerkyWidenersRotoMetals2Lee Precision
Titan Reloading Reloading Everything
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: Quality of Lee Molds

Boolit Mold

Quality of Lee Molds

I am brand new to casting, and am looking to buy a mold for a flat nose .308win boolit in the 170gr range. Everyone seems to think the Lyman 311041 is the way to go, but the Lee molds are so cheap! Anyway, I am just wondering what kind of experiences you guys have had with the Lee molds? Are they worth a try, or would buying one just be a waste of time and money?

Boolit Buddy
    I personally don't like the 2 cavity Lee molds. They just don't seem to close right for me without really paying attention. Not that paying attention is such a big deal. But I do like the six cavity molds and think they are a great value. The problem is the six cavity is not offered in all designs.

Boolit Master at heavens range
    I have used a good no. of them, I check them for burrs on the parting lines, Deburr the top of the molds for they dont get deep marks on top of the mold. Wash out good with hot soap and water, Put graffited on the top of mold and spruce plate, When hot use bull plate lub. on the spruce plate now,and line up pins, Some molds it help to lightly smoke, Even if you dont hardly see it, If they hang up I lap them very lightly, tooth past will work for it,Treat them with care and I have a no troubles, I have 2 gang molds and doing the above they have casted thousands of bullets, I have molds I paid over $100.00 for and you have to take care of any of them, Hope this helps, Joe

i use the 170 gr fn 30-30 mold lee makes , it casts nice i reccomend if on a budget , im getting into the NOE( night owl enterprise ) molds , they seen to come out with a mirror finish on them
    To disarm the people is the best and most effectual way to enslave them.”
    ~George Mason

my feedback page:click and give me feedback here,below...