Reloading EverythingLee PrecisionMidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders Jerky
WidenersRotoMetals2Titan ReloadingInline Fabrication
Repackbox Load Data
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: .35 Remington

Boolit Master

.35 Remington

I'm finally gonna start reloading for my .35 Rem Marlin 336! I have dies and a few J-words but I'd like to cast for this rifle. Is there any other "special" dies I need for the .35 to handload cast boolits?
    What brand brass is suggested, Remington or Winchester?

Boolit Grand Master
    Lefty,

I am fairly new to the .35 Remington myself. I am guessing that you have one of the standard two die rifle sets?

If so you will need an expander to load boolits; the standard answer is to get a Lyman M die, but if you already load for .38/.357, you can try the neck expander from that set of dies.

I am using the RCBS two die set, and expanding the necks with a C-H .38 special die.

I crimp with a standard roll crimp using the RCBS seater; it works for me, so I haven't gotten a Lee factory crimp die.

The only brass I have used to date is Remington-- it was what I found first. The only thing I didn't like was the fact that it had to be trimmed before the first loading.

Robert

Boolit Master

Welcome to the 35 Remy its a great cartridge. I use Lee dies and expand with a RCBS 357 expander also bought a Lee crimp die, works great. A couple of really good boolits are Ranch Dogs and Noe has a RCBS clone that weights about 205 both shoot really good in my rifle. 3031 works best for me for heavy loads and for a light plinking load a light charge of RED DOT with about any .357 boolit shoots very well.

I wouldn't worry about the brand of brass just get whatever you can find, sometimes that is a problem. I have both and they seem to work equally well I do keep them seperate.

Richard

Boolit Master

Just the expander is all you'll need extra.

After the first firing, I just neck size my cases and have had no problems in my old 336.