Reloading EverythingLoad DataSnyders JerkyWideners
Lee PrecisionRepackboxMidSouth Shooters SupplyRotoMetals2
Titan Reloading Inline Fabrication

Thread: Load development and The Beginner's Guide

Boolit Bub

Load development and The Beginner's Guide

I wanted to make sure this question wasn't already answered so I read through some old posts as well as the Beginner's Guide (funny, I've been reloading for twenty years and still haven't figured it all out. You never stop learning as long as you're humble enough to keep trying with an open mind). I don't think the comprehensive answer that I am looking for is anywhere in existing posts so may be safe in diving in with this question.

Does one first choose a powder?
    How about choosing a moderate charge?
    Maybe you choose the bullet first?

These are representative questions that I suspect really frustrates cast bullet shooters, young and old (like myself). After twenty years of reloading with good, bad, and great results; but always tollerable groups after minimal experimenting, I would like to truly understand the relationships between them and the order of process steps, involved in developing the best load for one gun (a revolver). And after reading literally all of the reloading manuals including Lyman's Cast Bullet Manual, this information is missing I believe.

Maybe there is no truely "right" process because no one variable is "independant" of all others and the only way is to shoot every permutation of the pertinent variables.

Here is another way to wrap your head around the dilemma;

I have before me three lead bullet candidates, all historically good performers and I have large quantities of each, all unsized and all larger than my cylinder throat diameter. I eliminate one variable, sizing diameter, because past experience tells me that the popular method of matching diameter to throats works well. So I size them all to .0005 under throat diameter.