Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingRotoMetals2Load Data
Lee PrecisionWidenersMidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders Jerky
Repackbox Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 6 123456 LastLast

Thread: 45 colt powder choices

Half the year in Canada and the other half in Mexico

45 colt powder choices

Good afternoon; I am a newbie to this forum and also a new 45 colt reloader.
    I have one nagging question when it comes to reloading this cartridge regarding powder choices.
    I am of the opinion that no matter what, you will never turn this cartridge into a race horse. So assuming you use the correct diameter of bullet for your 45 colt; the correct lube, the right primer, good brass, and a couple of reloading manuals for load data; WHAT is the real advantage of or how do you select a powder for this cartridge when the for example in Lymans Reloading Handbook #46 gives 7 powders for the#454190 bullet (250 grain#2 alloy) that if loaded to max load the velocity difference goes from 1017 fps with HS5 to 1185 fps with unique with the other 5 clustered around 1100 fps.
    Now these are Ruger T/C loads.
    So to summarize what would make one choose one powder over another in this instance where none is going to turn it into a barn burner. Would it be its clean burning traits. amount needed per load - economy, or what you already have on your bench?
    Many thanks for your patience.
    Doc

Boolit Master
    IMHO Red Dot is the best choice as it is fluffier. Many like Trail Boss and Unique. As I recall Mike Ventrino advocated Red Dot powder, but now prefers Trail Boss...

I have that powder and I see in the book under Ruger loads 6.5 gr for 835 fps to 9.4 gr for 1097 fps.
    I cannot see any other powder listed giving much better velocity or economy?
    It is supposed to be a clean burner so perhaps there is no better alternative ??
    Thank-you
    Doc

Boolit Master
    I shoot lots of 45LC. I have six revolvers and five rifles in that caliber.