Reloading EverythingLoad DataRepackboxInline Fabrication
MidSouth Shooters SupplySnyders JerkyRotoMetals2Lee Precision
Titan Reloading Wideners

Thread: Ladle use with MiHec molds

Boolit Mold

Ladle use with MiHec molds

Hello,

I just received two amazing molds from MiHec and I have a question.

I noiticed that on the sprue plate the section between cavities forms a very short barrier but it also has a cut out to allow (theoretically) between them. I know the H&G molds have a "trough" along the sprue plate between cavity holes. Any one use just ladle pour with these molds? I'm brand new to bullet casting so would appreciate any advice.

Rene

Boolit Grand Master

I cast with nothing but ladle. It is a large ladle that holds about a pound of lead.

I have 3 Mihec moulds and they work just fine with my ladle.

They are beautiful moulds aren't they?

Are yours brass Cramer style hollow point or solid?

If Cramer HP, you will likely find you have to run a little hotter than typical recommended temperatures and cast fairly fast and steady.

I pre-heat my moulds on a hot plate then when I get casting I keep up a steady rhythm. Once the mould and pins are hot they cast and release very well.

If your mould is HP you might just give the pins a light wipe with the mould lube Mihec supplies. That should help make sure the boolits release well.

Enjoy!

Longbow

Boolit Mold
    Thanks for the advice , Longbow. Mine molds are solid.

Rene

Boolit Grand Master

As mentioned, I use the ladle for everything. I tried a bottom pour pot and did not like it. I find a ladle simpler and easier. Also, for large boolits and multi cavity moulds I find I can pour quicker with a ladle. That may depend on the pot/nozzle but in any case a ladle does what I want.