RotoMetals2MidSouth Shooters SupplyLoad DataInline Fabrication
Titan ReloadingWidenersRepackboxReloading Everything
PBcastco Lee Precision
Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

Thread: field stripping a marlin 1894s

Boolit Master

field stripping a marlin 1894s

i just saw the stickie on field stripping a winchester....
    lever guns are new to me.....
    any of the more experienced marlin lever gun members
    feel like creating a stickie for the marlins ???

thanks
    mike
    only accurate rifles are interesting

Boolit Grand Master
    The Marlin field-strip is positively simple compared to Winchesters. This applies to the modern Marlin lever rifles I've messed with--Models 336, 1894, 1895. I have no experience with pre-war Marlin lever guns.

After confirming unloaded condition, lay the rifle on its left side. Set the action lever about "1/3 open". Unscrew the lever pivot screw, located.......well, where the lever pivots. That done, the lever assembly (1 piece) can be withdrawn downward away from the action. Remember the positions of the lever and bolt for re-assembly ease.

Next--withdraw the bolt backwards out of the action. 1-piece assembly.

Next--the ejector is a little V-shaped part now visible with the bolt withdrawn. Remove it from its recess, noting the slot it fits into and the peg that locates into its action wall hole. This might be the most often lost gun part in world history, with the possible exception of S&W revolver rebound slide springs. Laying the rifle on its left side helps prevent ejector loss--it will fall free with minimal assistance by gravity. Marlin will mail you one in short order, if your local gunsmith is out of stock. I'll bet Marlin gets 10-20 requests per week for this one.