Load DataRepackboxLee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
RotoMetals2Reloading EverythingTitan ReloadingInline Fabrication
Wideners MidSouth Shooters Supply

Thread: Lee .358 140 SWC

Boolit Mold

Lee .358 140 SWC

Got a newbie question and probably many more to follow. I'm assembling all the components needed to start casting and I'm looking at the Lee .358 140 swc. My question is can I tumble lube this bullet? Another question I had is do I need to size this bullet? I'm totally new at all of this and I've read the the tl bullets don't need sized and can the tumble lube process seems a lot easier than pan lubing. I plan on shooting this bullet out of a Taurus 608 that has a 6.5 inch barrel and will be using it for backyard target shooting only. Is the bullet I'm looking at a good option? I'm also only looking for 6 cavity molds as I don't have a lot of extra time and want to be as productive as possible. Any thoughts?
    Last edited by MSG; 04-06-2011 at 07:56 AM.

Boolit Master
    MSG
    I have two of the Lee .358-140 swc. I bought a 2 cav to try out the boolit in my K38. It shot so good that I went back and bought a 6 cav.

As too the tumble lube question I don't see any reason why it would not work if your mold drops boolits the size your gun wants and you don't want to size. If you do need to size the Lee push through system works nice.

In my case my 2 cav drops boolits at .358-.359. The 6 cav. drops them at .361 both from WW.
    I lube my boolits in a .360 lyman die and size in a Lee .358 push through die.

Good luck............Terry

MSG,

I tumble lube a lot of bullets, including the Lee 358-140-SWC. In fact, it's one of my favorites because it's easy to cast good boolits, especially when using two moulds at a time as I do. And it's about the most accurate bullet I use in about 18 different revolvers in .38 Special and .357 Magnum.