MidSouth Shooters SupplyLee PrecisionReloading EverythingInline Fabrication
RepackboxRotoMetals2Titan ReloadingLoad Data
Snyders Jerky Wideners

Thread: Lee 4-20

Boolit Buddy

Lee 4-20

Yesterday I was casting and ran into a new complaint about the Lee bottom pour pot. I have been using this pot for a couple years now. The first pot full run as well as can be expected from a Lee. But on the second pot about half way threw the arm that controls the spout started getting stiff, I should have stopped right there but kept on casting.
    Then it happened, the spout stuck open.
    I had muffin pans close by and did not have too much of a mess.
    After the pot cooled I checked things out. It seems over the last couple years the C – shaped lift arm had sprung to the point it was binding on the top and bottom mounting screws.
    I took the arm off and straitened it back to original shape. But now I don’t trust the pot. Being bent the thin piece of steel they use for the arm will be weak and bend again.
    I think I may just bite the bullet and get the Lyman or RCBS bottom pour pot.

Boolit Master

Hornady,
    I think that you can help your situation if you lubricate the upper and lower shoulder bolts ("mounting screws") of your 4-20 pot with some Bullplate Lube. I did discovered this the other day and it stopped mine from dragging when I lifted the valve. It also helped with the dripping situation. I also added three large washers behind the wooden knob on the valve mechanism. I saw that someone else on the forum had done this and between the Bullplate and the washers my dripping has stopped and everything works smoothly. With these changes to your pot I believe your problem will be solved.

Ken
    Last edited by skeet1; 04-05-2011 at 10:42 AM.

hornady,