RotoMetals2Load DataLee PrecisionSnyders Jerky
Reloading EverythingRepackboxTitan ReloadingWideners
MidSouth Shooters Supply Inline Fabrication
Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: Which waxes work best?

Boolit Bub

Which waxes work best?

Which waxes work best and where do you buy yours from?

Boolit Master
    Work best for what?
    Oh OK I just noticed the forum.
    Still makes a difference what kind of lube you are making.
    Most start with bees wax for smokless powder lube and also for BP lube. There is an ongoing discussion and test for BP lube about the use of mineral wax as a better alternative than bees wax.
    Some use parafin but in my opinion it will fail at a lower pressure than bees wax. If its only being used for low pressure smokless powder it may suffice.
    Last edited by Bullshop; 12-10-2010 at 10:48 PM.

I have been using beeswax as a base for many years. I have about 75 pounds of it stuck away. Some I bought on Ebay. Some I bought of sellers on the board. A few years back one of our members bought a huge pallet of WWII surplus beeswax and we had a feeding frenzie. I think I bought 30 or 40 pounds of that stuff.

Check your local phone directory for bee keepers and honey. Most have wax to sell, if you give them a call.
    Disclaimer: The above is not holy writ. It is just my opinion based on my experience and knowledge. Your mileage may vary.

Boolit Master

Nothing can replace BEESWAX. There are some experimenting with micro crystalline waxes , but they are still made from petro I'm still not sure if they can come close to BEESWAX as a base for lube. Looking for some? I carry it all the time.

Randyrat I think that was nearly shameless self-marketing. It is better to let someone else do it for you. So yes Randyrat has real good beeswax clean consistent and smells good to boot. Buy in bulk because once you start making one lube you are going to make ten.

Boolit Master