PDA

View Full Version : where do you shoot deer with cast bullets

dale.l
11-04-2010, 07:31 PM
Im new to hunting with cast boolits, where do you shoot deer with cast boolits? I've always shot them right behine the front shoulder with jacketed bullets. Some one told me I should aim for the shoulder because cast bullets just poke a hole. I will be using a 30-30 with a rcbs 30-180-FN. I would think the big flat nose on that bullet should do a good bit of damage.

krag35
11-04-2010, 07:37 PM
Deer, Elk, Antelope, or Coyotes, I shoot them in the big middle part.

hoosierlogger
11-04-2010, 07:38 PM
Aim for the boiler room every time.

HammerMTB
11-04-2010, 07:40 PM
I try to shoot them in the last set of tracks they made before I break the shot.
Kidding aside, it depends.
All my Texas kinfolk think the only way to do it is to head shoot 'em. So if I'm there, that's what I do. But they are mostly under 100 yards away, so that's not hard to do.
Thru the boiler room is fine if there's not a place they might hide between the shot and the bleedout.
The front shoulder will anchor them, but ruins some meat.
How they may be positioned before the shot is also a factor. If going away, you might make a TX heart shot, but there's a mess to clean up.
You'll get lots of replys and plenty to think about.

sqlbullet
11-04-2010, 08:44 PM
When I shoot them, it is in Utah or Illinois.

waksupi
11-04-2010, 08:48 PM
Shoot them where you have been shooting them. That flat nose will give you a good wound channel.

mroliver77
11-04-2010, 09:04 PM