PDA

View Full Version : Silhouette bullet? Along w/LBT group buy

357shooter
10-31-2010, 10:13 AM
OK, so I've just discovered an outdoor range not to far away and they do IHMSA Silhouette shooting each month. I'm looking at Field Pistol with my 6 inch 357 Taurus 66 & Red Dot. I've never done this before, all my shooting is indoor with 25 yard max.

Looks like FP has lighter silhouettes and takes place at 25, 50, 75 and 100 yards. I can't even see that far!

I'm looking for some general advice, just want to go and shoot my cast handloads and have some fun. Not looking to become world champ.

First question: I'm also thinking of the LBT group buy going on. Would the 140, the 160 or the 180 all work, or which would you buy to go Silhouetting. I'm note even sure the 180 will fit into a revolver....

Second question: Assuming one of these would work well, suggestions on loads? Does this required max mag loads with H110 or 2400 or is midrange to light good?

Third question: My current favorite mould is the NOE 358429 168 grain group buy mould. It's actually dropping at 173 and my gun loves it. Any load suggestions for this boolit for silhouette shooting?

I was interested in getting an LBT at some point, with a discount this would be a good time. The group buy is up tomorrow so time is short, sorry about that. I did post this to Veral/LBT but he must be tied up as he hasn't replied in the past few days. He does get busy, which is a good thing!

What do you think?

runfiverun
10-31-2010, 10:24 AM
the one you have now is heavy enough to tip over silhouettes at 100 yds.
i use a 158 rnfp in my levergun at about 1,000 fps and it will tip a ram, when i can hit it.
i'd just shoot a medium load and worry about finding your sight settings.

357shooter
10-31-2010, 11:28 AM
the one you have now is heavy enough to tip over silhouettes at 100 yds.
i use a 158 rnfp in my levergun at about 1,000 fps and it will tip a ram, when i can hit it.