PDA

View Full Version : 30/06 cast ?

Railbuggy
10-07-2010, 06:23 PM
Just bought a LEE C309-160-R mound to start loading for a Ruger M77 in 30/06.
My boolits are droping at 151 and 152 grain,and .311 dia.( WW with solder added)
Do I need to size them to308 or309?
I have been casting 45s for my 1911 and my 45 colt Blackhawk since 2004,but this is my first try on bottleneck rounds.
I just broke a deprimer pin SE2277 on a berden case,so I need to order some stuff
anyway.
Thanks-I don't post much but I visit daily.
Railbuggy
:lovebooli

Maven
10-07-2010, 06:44 PM
Railbuggy, You're going to use those CB's with gas checks, right? If so, you'll want to purchase a Lyman .30cal. "M" die to expand and [slightly] bell the case mouths so that you can seat CB's, gas checks or not, without damaging them. As for which diameter to size them to, You should slug your bore first and then add .001", possibly .002" to that dimension and selelct a sizing die accordingly. However, I'd try .311" first with a starting load of 13 grs. Red Dot or 16 grs. 2400 as you don't have to buy anything extra except maybe bullet lube. Lee's Liquid Alox or Lar's Xlox* work well for this application.

*sales@LsStuff.com

FAsmus
10-07-2010, 06:48 PM
Railbuggy;

You ask: My bullets are dropping at 151 and 152 grain,and .311 dia. ( WW with solder added) Do I need to size them to308 or309?

Me; This is unlikely.

First off you need to determine the internal dimensions of your barrel. There are various ways to do this, just go looking here on the site and you'll soon find the method that suits your situation.

However, in general, bullets around 0.311 are not really outa-hand for loading as-cast into a 30'06. You might find a load that would work just fine with such a large bullet. I, for example, have loaded for 40 years with nothing more than a single 0.3105 die - I size them all the same and work out loads that accommodate the bullets as they come from the sizer.