PDA

View Full Version : Possibly the best Flux??? IDK

xXFREEDOMisNOTfreeXx
10-01-2010, 02:06 AM
Hey guys, I am very new to the "Boolit" casting game so far. My Dad and I have now casted about 80Lbs of pure lead from roof flashings. Just recently we ran out of Flux wax and were complaining to ourselves about how much a stick cost from the NRA website and wondering why it cost so much. We started researching for cheaper alternatives and found from information on this website that anything from kitty litter to sawdust works great because of the fact it had carbon derivatives. This gave me an idea that I want to throw out to you guys. I use to work at a pet-store for years and we used "Activated Carbon" (which is extremely pure) to filter our fish tank water. Would it be possible to beat/pulverize these small pellets into a fine grit and add it to the smelting lead to harvest more impurities out easier? I am just an amateur at this so far but I think i am going to try this unless there is something someone knows on why it wouldn't work optimally. If the main point is to add carbon for a better end product I'd think this would work great. If anyone does try this before I do Plzzz let me know how it goes. I'll include some pictures below of what it looks like. Like I said you can get very high grade activated carbon at any pet-store or on-line at that matter. It's not to expensive either (depending on the grade and manufacturer). :Fire:

The pic below is from here: http://www.marinedepot.com/Aquarium_Pharmaceuticals_Super_Activated_Carbon_Ca rbon_Chemical_Filter_Media-Aquarium_Pharmaceuticals_API_MARS_Fishcare-AP2125-FIFMCHCM-vi.html
http://www.f3images.com/IMD/600/AP2125/AP2125_99.jpg

http://www.cameroncarbon.com/activated_carbon2.jpg

cbrick
10-01-2010, 02:23 AM
Welcome to Castboolits Freedom,