PDA

View Full Version : Plain-Base Bullets and Gas Checks

Southern Shooter
09-30-2010, 09:05 PM
Can some type of gas check be used on plain-base bullets?

Thanks

Dill45
09-30-2010, 09:18 PM
I don't believe so...That would increase the diameter of the bullet at the base.

Though I could be wrong, I'm no expert.

Gohon
09-30-2010, 09:36 PM
What a coincidence this question should come up. I just finished loading 50 rounds using the Lee 358-158-RF which is a bevel base non gas check design. Actually there isn't much of a bevel on the base but it is there. Thing is though, I loaded these with a gas check crimped in place. Goofing around one night I discovered the bullet would sit down into the gas check cup however so slight. Running one through a Lee crimp die the check crimped solidly in place. I cannot pull one loose unless I use a pair of pliers and they are not over sized after the check is crimped on. They do however have a slight cupping on the bottom of the base of the check as they do not seat flat against the base of the bullet but they are square and even. I loaded 50 rounds using 2400, starting at 11.5 grains and working up to 15.5 grains. This gives me 10 rounds each to test. How they will shoot.........I haven't a clue but I'll find out in the next few days.

So to answer your question....yes it is possible depending on the design but probable not practical.

lwknight
09-30-2010, 10:05 PM
yes it is possible depending on the design but probable not practical.

Thats the word I was looking for.

looseprojectile
09-30-2010, 10:20 PM
It is called a "card wad" on a plain base boolit. They work the same way.

Life is good

ReloaderFred
09-30-2010, 10:27 PM
Pat Marlin is making a gas check tool for adding a gas check to a plain base bullet. He's already produced them in .35 caliber, and I'm waiting for him to make mine in .44 caliber. There is a thread on this very subject in the swaging forum.