PDA

View Full Version : .30/30 BP loads ?

KirbyAUS
09-16-2006, 09:36 PM
Hi fellas,
this may sound dumb, but what grade of Black Powder would you recomend for .30/30 loads ?

At the moment I only have FFF G for my M/L.

Any special requirements - load data for .30/30 ?

Many thanks,

Kirby.

Mike Nesbitt
09-16-2006, 10:03 PM
Kirby, I have no experience in loading a .30/30 with black powder. However, I have loaded some .32 Winchester Specials with black powder and when the .32 W.S. was introduced it was available in factory loaded ammo with black powder. The load used was simply 40 grains, just like the .32/40. In my opinion, FFFg might be just a little fast for your loads but it should be alright. If you can get some FFg that might work a bit better, or Cartridge powder. Cartridge is what I used in the .32 W.S. The main differences between the .30/30 and the .32 W.S. is just .013" in bullet diameter and the .32 had a 1-16" rate of twist in the barrel compared to the .30/30's 1-12" twist. They say the faster twist fouls faster. Also, in the early days the .303 Savage was available with two different blackpowder loadings. One of those loadings used the 190 grain bullet, a full metal cased bullet, over 40 grains of black powder. I have no idea what granulation of black... And they had a short range load which used a 100 grain lead bullet, or full metal case, over just 10 grains of loose black powder. The .303 used the same rate of twist to the rifling as the .30/30. So, we do know that black powder was used with a rate of twist that fast and it should work rather well for at least a few shots. (Actually, the old .25/36 Marlin used blackpowder loads with a very fast rate of twist and the .25/35 Winchester was designed for black powder but never actually factory loaded that way.) Anyway, the load you might use is 35 to 40 grains of black powder in the .30/30 under the 170 grain or similar weight bullet. You shouldn't experience any problems getting that much powder into