PDA

View Full Version : What oil to use on a cast iron mold?

saz
09-12-2010, 12:21 AM
I just stumbled on my first high dollar mold after learning with lee 2 cavity molds. I found a saeco .44 keith mold, and after using it I was at a loss for words as to what oil or lubricant to use on it after casting to prevent rust. Is there a specific regimen one should follow with a cast iron mold as far as maintenance? I am just a rookie yet and have only used aluminum molds. Thanks!

HeavyMetal
09-12-2010, 12:34 AM
I have always kept my molds, iron , brass and aluminum, in a big metal ammo box, the type with the "O" ring seal around the top, and a latch on both ends of the lid!

I also keep a container of dissacant in with them and renew it every year or so as needed.

Done this way I have never had to "oil" a mold. I also don't leave the last boolit cast in the mold either, I think that attracts mositure, and causes rust.

I've picked up many a mold with a boolit in place that was rusted in the cavity!

However I have never lived in Alaska and you may have to be a bit more careful with storage and cooling periods than I might be.

Cleaning a mold of oil or grease just seems counter productive to me. My reason is a properly boken in Iron mold should have the cavities looking like they have been "blued" by the heat of casting. This actually acts as a release agent and, after break in, should not be removed.

Oiling and then cleaning will certainly do this. Thus everytime you use the mold you'll be breaking it in once more!

Trust me once you get that blued look to the cavities you never want to remove it!

Le Loup Solitaire
09-12-2010, 12:47 AM