PDA

View Full Version : Bullet for Nagant 91/30 with .314 Groove Dia

peterso
09-09-2010, 09:47 PM
My Nagant has a groove diameter of .314 and I am planning on filre lapping to brighten the bore and make it a little easier to clean. I was looking at the Lee 185 gr 8mm bullet .324 I believe and sizing it down to .315 or .316. Has anyone tried sizing that bullet that much and how about gas checks? Has anyone had good luck with any other bullet? I would appreciate any suggestions or hearing of your experiences.
Thanks,
Owen

1Shirt
09-09-2010, 11:43 PM
Thats a lot of squeezin down. My .314 shoots well with the Lee 160 designed for the 7.62x39, and drops out of the mold with my alloy at .315. I use mule snot for this one.
1Shirt!:coffeecom

craig61a
09-09-2010, 11:47 PM
I'm new to cast boolits, have loaded a few, some with excellent results, some not so good. I always meant to get into it, just took a while. I have some Mosins that have basically sat in the rack for years because they weren't that good for shooting copper bullets. I just had one out (M38) that I haven't shot since I bought it ten years ago. I had some spare time last Sunday, sso I grabbed it and surplus Russian LB. The bore had frost, so I didn't expect tack driving accuracy. After about twenty rounds the groups started to close up, so I figured it might not be that oversize after all. I drifted the front sight a little and talked with the guy in the next bench for several minutes. I loaded five rounds and took a shot. Scored an X. Two more shots were within 1/2" of the first. Took a break and talked with the guy next to me some more. after about fifteen minutes I went back to shooting. Now the bullets were all over the place ( 3 -4" at 50 yds). I finish off the rest of the 20 round package, cleaned it and went home.