PDA

View Full Version : Poly for Hornet

wistlepig1
08-24-2010, 09:27 PM
I am working on a "cat sneeze" load for my 22 Hornet. I have never used Poly before but with only 3 grs of powder in this load I was thinking it might be a good idea. Can someone tell me how much to use and how much do you pack into the case?
Thanks for any help, I know nothing about this.

35remington
08-25-2010, 12:05 AM
I would strongly suggest NOT to use poly filler in light charges with a few grains of fast powder, having done it myself in 22K Hornet. What occurs is that occasionally not all the buffer goes out of the case as the powder gasses tunnel to the side of the buffer, leaving the remainder looking like a dirty snowdrift.

Some of this can and will lodge in the throat. I was shooting a tip barrel single shot and caught it before it caused a problem....you may not be so lucky. Poly buffer should not be filling the majority of the case as with small volume charges and low pressures.

Low velocity, under 1200 fps loads with light charges in the Hornet are especially inadvisable with poly. Proper usage is with somewhat higher pressure, lower airspace loads.
I would first investigate velocity consistency of small unfillered charges; try something with low position sensitivity like Titegroup. As long as you don't go really light, most of the pistol/shotgun powders will show reasonable consistency without filler. Just make sure the powder isn't all bunched up by the bullet before firing.

felix
08-25-2010, 01:12 AM
35Remington is correct. Take heed. Keep the barrel clean between shots when shooting short duration pressured loads. Revert to extra clean powder and lube, and minimize the latter intentionally at first. ... felix

Dale53
08-25-2010, 08:50 AM
I have a TC Contender pistol in .22 Hornet. My cast bullet load is the Lyman 225415 gas check bullet. It makes a GREAT squirrel load with 3.0 grs of Unique. It is a reliable ½" at 50 yards performer.