PDA

View Full Version : dressing bore

nail
08-15-2010, 02:29 PM
I am new to casting and shoot a 444 marlin and noticed that my groups got better after I shot the first five rounds, My question is do you have to dress the bore down like a 22 long rifle for accuracy. thanks Steve!!

duckndawg
08-15-2010, 04:48 PM
yes and no. some guns like to have a clean bore and some dont. i have a 243 that wants the bore clean, the dirtier it gets the worse it shoots. my 223 is just opposite, it likes to be kinda dirty to shoot itty bitty groups.

Cherokee
08-15-2010, 07:32 PM
And a welcome to the forum. My cast bullet guns do not get their bore cleaned until winter when I don't shoot them for a while. Seems a few shots lays down some "conditioning" and cleaning it means you have to start over. The "conditioning" protects the bore so cleaning is not necessary.

RobS
08-15-2010, 08:31 PM
Ive used a patch of LARS/White Label Xlox or Lee Alox and run it down the barrel after cleaning.

runfiverun
08-15-2010, 10:30 PM
i have noticed it takes about 7 shots for lube to appear at the muzzle.
thats exactly how many my 223 took today.
it took 11 for my squeaky clean 30-30 to get lube there.
me and little girl put 150 rounds through the 308 today and about 80 through the 223 [it's first time out with cast]
the 308 hasn't had a patch through it in over 3 years and it gets shot a lot.
today we spent about 100 rounds shooting steel bowling pins at the 300 yd line.
a lot of being able to do so depends on the lubes make-up and final viscosity.

DIRT Farmer
08-15-2010, 10:56 PM