PDA

View Full Version : Newbie with a few questions

Alaskan100
08-15-2010, 05:32 AM
Hello All,
I am just starting out putting together casting equipment and I need a little advice. I will be only casting bullets for my black powder guns, ( a few hundred bullets a summer). I plan on using a double cavity mold. I also plan on melting down all my scavenged lead in a cast iron pot on a fish fryer burner, then pouring ingots.

Here are a couple questions I have:
Would a bottom pour Lee 10lb pot be more headache than its worth, or should I just get a pot and a laddle and pour away?

I will be trying to get wheel weights for my lead most of the time. But would range lead be to dirty for a bottom pour pot?

Any help you folks could give me would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Alaskan100

winelover
08-15-2010, 07:53 AM
Here are a couple questions I have:
Would a bottom pour Lee 10lb pot be more headache than its worth, or should I just get a pot and a laddle and pour away?

I will be trying to get wheel weights for my lead most of the time. But would range lead be to dirty for a bottom pour pot?

Any help you folks could give me would be greatly appreciated.
Thanks
Alaskan100

If you are considering a Lee bottom pour pot, the 20# is less of a headache IMO.

WW and or range lead is dirty by default. Do your smelting in the cast iron pot / turkey fryer and you'll be fine. Save your CLEAN ingots for the bottom pour.

Winelover:coffeecom

mooman76
08-15-2010, 08:30 AM