PDA

View Full Version : new rifle advice

ebert
08-08-2010, 05:21 PM
i am looking to purchase a new rifle in 38 caliber for recreational shooting only. but interested in very accurate rifles. i already have a couple sharps. i am interested in the new c sharps hepburn but their barrels are only in 15 twist which isn't fast enough. i would like to shoot a heavy bullet, maybe 375. i am looking for input as which way i should go. i am also thinking of upper missouri action, custom barrel, stock. i am a machinist, not a gunsmith, but have a friend who is. my options are almost unlimited so i am looking for the best possible shooter to build or buy. thankyou

montana_charlie
08-08-2010, 07:34 PM
Have you considered the Pedersoli Hiwall in 38-55?
The attachment has a write up about the bullet designed for it.

EDIT: Hmmm..the attachment didn't stick to the post.
Send me your email address and I'll get it to you.
CM

ebert
08-08-2010, 07:52 PM
i am really interested in a hepburn thankyou

NickSS
08-09-2010, 04:51 AM
Buy the hepburn and shoot 330 gr bullets. If you get to the point of wanting a faster twist buy a new barrel and have your friend screw it on. As the Hepburn is a new product that is about the only way you are going to get one unless you buy one of the hepburn action kits I saw advertisements for some time ago and make a custom gun. Personally I have owned a Hepburn original and shot it for awhile but did not like either their looks or the way is works. Some people like them but I don;t I guess that is what sells rifles personal preferences.

Don McDowell
08-09-2010, 09:09 AM
Go ahead and get the hepburn. As Nick says shoot the Lyman bullet for a while, and then buy , beg or borrow some of the heavier bullets. Twist rate claims from some corners of the world aren't exactly needed.