PDA

View Full Version : Out of round with one small spot

Mattog22
08-06-2010, 03:54 PM
I'm using a Lee 230 gr TL RN .45 6-cav mold. I cast some boolits last night and I measured them, they varied around .4535 to .452 for most areas I measured but it seemed like on a lot of the boolits there was one spot when measured just to the side of the slight seam from the mold that would measure .451. I have my lead at 630-650 degrees and my mold is hot enough that I have to wait for the sprueplate to harden each time. The mold is clean. What could cause the small spot? I called Lee and they said just send it in.

Echo
08-06-2010, 04:00 PM
Sounds like it could be a venting problem. As the alloy cools, it shrinks, and if there is insufficient venting in that area, and the alloy isn't hot enough, the shrinkage pulls the alloy away from the wall of the mold, rather than pulling alloy down from the sprue area, since the sprue has solidified before the interior.

I theeenk...

Or something...

08-06-2010, 04:02 PM
I would determine which cavity is at fault and give it an inspection with as much magnification that's available, looking for any irregularity, and give the mould another thorough cleaning with Dawn dishsoap and hot water.

You didn't say how long you have to wait for the sprue to harden, but the temperature seems a bit on the low side, expecially for an aluminum mould.

If inspection, cleaning and higher temperature doesn't remedy it, you might try lapping the offending cavity.

NSP64
08-06-2010, 04:09 PM
Ya gots to run them Lee molds hot.

What alloy are you using?

Mattog22
08-06-2010, 05:26 PM
Ww alloy, it's hot enough that I have to wait several seconds for the sprueplate to harden.

leftiye
08-06-2010, 07:38 PM
Look for **** - maybe release agent buildup in that area in the cavities which corresponds to the undersized parts of the boolits. Could be hot spots. Any frosting in the shrinking parts?

Mattog22
08-06-2010, 08:51 PM