PDA

View Full Version : Reviews: on 3 rifles bought in past 6 months

frank_1947
08-02-2010, 09:01 PM
Around the end of Febuary I wanted to start shooting in rifle competition, I had been shooting pistol USPSA for 5 years or better and do to just getting older (63 years) I am slowing down USPSA is all about speed both mentally and physically so I am not doing as well as I did a few years back.

I started reading on the internet about F-Class that was created for anyone but at the time is was created it was for old guys, any power scope any caliber 600 yards also read on benchrest shooting 600 yards so I decided that would be my goal and my challenge 600 yard rifle competition.

I have not shot much rifle in 30 to 35 years but as a young man in my 20s and in the military in 1966 I did shoot M14 and the only one in my squad to get the SAEMR ribbon (Small Arms Expert Marksman Ribbon) so I came in here and other site looking for a good rifle so about $7000 later as of today I have a Rem 700 Mil Spec 5R SS in .308 a Savage 10FP in .223 and a Savage Model 12 F-Class 6mm BR

Not sure if I just got lucky with these 3 rifles all shoot sub 1/2 moa to 300 yards and .679 to 600 yards that is a 4 inch group at 600 yards and I have shot as small as 2.5 inches at 600 that is .416 moa but not consistant 3.5 and 4 inches consistant in both 6mm br and .308 the .223 I only shoot in varmit class at 200 yards with .3 moa but will shoot 300 and 600 soon. I have been told by those who been shooting competition rifle I am doing very well I have placed first and second in varmit and my score in F Class 284 from possible 300 points forgot how many X have not shot 600 yard benchrest yet I will maybe in 2 wks depends how hot it is. All of the above are 5 shot and 7 shot groups. 3 shots in my book don't count.

So if you want a good gun those 3 preform well you need good glass I bought Leupold Competition 45X, Weaver 36x, Burris 8x32x50 Black Diamond and a Bushnell 5x15x40.