PDA

View Full Version : Cleanest Powder.....

swynn
07-27-2010, 04:41 PM
Ok...I'm learning alot...Never mention the "J" word ever agin......

I casted my 2nd round of 9mm this morning befor it got to hot...maybe 300 boolits.

I would like to here from you guys on the cleanest powder to use with my

.256/125gr Lee mold.....I have a CZ Model 85 Combat...

Thanks
Swynn

Gee_Wizz01
07-27-2010, 04:56 PM
To be honest I don't worry about which powder is the cleanest. I usually look at which powder will give me the performance I am looking for. I normally use Bullseye, WW 231, or Power Pistol with 115 - 125 gr boolits. Sometimes I use Unique or AA #5. I find that cast boolits are not the cleanest form of projectiles, and your lube will also have a large effect on "cleanliness". You need to clean your pistol after you shoot, so what difference is an extra patch or two? Thats my philosophy, for what its worth.

G

dale2242
07-27-2010, 05:31 PM
i`m with Gee Wizz01, Clean burning powder doesn`t mean much since I use 50/50 lube. Kinda messy. Go for what gives you the results you want and clean when you are done shooting...dale

Char-Gar
07-27-2010, 05:36 PM
I don't know what is up with "the younger set" and their quest for a clean burning powder. I just don't get it. I wash my hands and clean my guns after shooting regardless of what powder I use. Just use the powder that give the best results.

Windy City Kid
07-27-2010, 06:50 PM
Ok...I'm learning alot...Never mention the "J" word ever agin......

I casted my 2nd round of 9mm this morning befor it got to hot...maybe 300 boolits.

I would like to here from you guys on the cleanest powder to use with my

.256/125gr Lee mold.....I have a CZ Model 85 Combat...

Thanks
Swynn

Hi Swynn,

I think you mean .356/125gr lee mold.

I tried a lot of powders in a 9mm and I have settled on WSF.

WSF is an excellent powder for cast boolits in a 9mm, it's clean burning and the accuracy is fantastic.

Cherokee
07-27-2010, 08:03 PM