PDA

View Full Version : Accuracy issues with soft lead 45 Colt

Johnnycoal
07-22-2010, 11:32 AM
I'm new to casting, so I'm hoping some of you pros here can help me out! Im casting with Dick Dastardly's Big Lube 210 gr JP mold, using an alloy of 1 part WW/1 part Pb. I shoot black powder (also new to me) and have found that with a full 35 gr (volume) of BP that these loads are terribly inaccurate. I'm talking 15" groups at 25 yards. With a reduced charge of 16 gr they are just fine, around 2" at 25 yards. I don't have a chronograph, or a bullet tester, but the full charge loads should be around 1200 fps. I'm guessing they should be around BHN 7 from what I've read.

So, does anyone know why the accuracy would fall off so sharp with heavier loads? If I'm not mistaken they shot soft lead back in 1873, with full charges of BP, and didn't have terrible accuracy. What is the difference between my loads an the ones from the 1870s? Is my lead just too soft for max loads? I thought I had heard of 45-70 shooters casting with near pure, and their velocities would be much higher than mine. Any help would be really appreciated!

RobS
07-22-2010, 12:05 PM
I have to first put it out there that I don't shot holy black, but it isn't about the speed of the bullet necessarily; it has to do with pressures. Your upper load would be carrying more pressures and could very likely be exceeding your alloys strength where as your lower load wouldn’t be carrying as much pressure.

If you have some info on your reloads, i.e. pressures, that would help with understanding what is going on with your current situation. One more question: Are you having any leading in the barrel with the upper load?

Johnnycoal
07-22-2010, 01:08 PM