PDA

View Full Version : do you need to size boolits?

craveman85
07-21-2010, 10:00 AM
hey guys im new to casting and reloading cast boolits. do i need to size my bullets? ive got a lee 500 grain 2 cavity mold thats .459 dia. i havent checked my loads with calipers yet though cause i cant find them. ive got a lee classic loader that you cant really use a sizing die on. is it necessary to size them?

epj
07-21-2010, 10:13 AM
It's gonna depend on a lot of factors. The short answer is "maybe". In any event, you will definately need to lube. Unsized bullets may shoot fine in your gun and not in someone elses. Sized bullets may shoot better, or may not. How's all this for a "non-answer".

craveman85
07-21-2010, 10:16 AM
yeah i definately will be lubing them. i dont want to buy a press just so i can size bullets though.

atr
07-21-2010, 10:20 AM
the very short answer is NO....if the boolit diameter as cast is right for your weapon, then don't size. Although if you use a gas check you will have to put it on by hand, and you will have to pan lub the boolit. Pan lubing can be messy which is why alot of guys don't bother and just go ahead an use the sizer.

The recommendations I have read about sizing is to size the minimum required. So if that boolit is the right diameter for your application ( say .001 or .002 over grove diameter) then I would recommend trying pan lubing and firing them as cast.

geargnasher
07-21-2010, 03:37 PM
Me, personally? Yes. I size everything I shoot.

You don't give us any real information on your application, so it's impossible to even hazard a guess as to whether or not YOU need to.

Gear

sqlbullet
07-21-2010, 03:45 PM
Try and see. If they will chamber OK, don't lead and provide accuracy acceptable to your needs, then no, you don't need to.