PDA

View Full Version : Help with bevel base problem.....

ackleyman
07-17-2010, 11:50 AM
Hello to all, new here on Cast Boolits! I have been casting since 1969, started off as a kid working for a commercial reloader.

As I get back into casting after a 20 year lapse, I find that on most pistol bullets that all molds are bevel base. I buy a Saeco 4 cavity 200g bevel base and my RCBS sizer thinks the Bevel base is a grease groove.

Since the vast majority of molds that are being made are Bevel base molds, I must be missing something.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Thanks

07-17-2010, 01:21 PM
Ackleyman,
Welcome.

I think it's a SAECO thing. Look into Lee, Lyman, and RCBS.

EDK
07-17-2010, 01:35 PM
Easy way...have the mould modified by milling off the bevel base or removing the bevel. Eric, the HP mould guy, offers this service. Maybe Buckshot also.

If you like bevel base, have the bottom plug on the sizer die modified to match the boolit base. A no brainer for a good machinist.

Expensive...buy a STAR lubricator/sizer. Learning curve on adjusting...read up on it here...and then it's mass production time!

A serious pistol shooter needs 4 cavity+ moulds, a STAR lubri-sizer, and a DILLON 550B (or equivalent) progressive reloading press.

:Fire::castmine::redneck:

casterofboolits
07-17-2010, 02:10 PM
Have the bottom punch modified to fit the bevel base. Had this done to several punches when I worked for a tool co. many, many moons ago.

This is probably your cheapest route. Eventually went to the Star luber too. [smilie=w:[smilie=w: The Lyman and RCBS was just too slow.

captaint
07-17-2010, 03:15 PM
I don't know - I don't own a bevel base mold, and I have a pile!! enjoy Mike

ackleyman
07-18-2010, 12:13 AM
Thanks to all for the help! I'm on the right track now!

Love this site with all it's experienced folks!

10mmShooter
07-18-2010, 08:56 AM
Ackelyman

You asked how to remove the bevel, I tried to snap a pic for you.