PDA

View Full Version : Lyman 311291 Problem

cwbuff
07-15-2010, 04:58 PM
I'm new to casting my own bullets, so bear with me. I cast some Lyman 311291 boolits 170g with gas checks. They will not chamber in my M1917 or in my M1903 National Match rifles. So I kept seating the boolit deeper. I've heard to "never seat below the bottom of the neck". Putting the gas check at the bottom of the neck yields an OAL of 3.032"

Do I seat the boolit deeper or am I doing something else wrong?

John 242
07-15-2010, 05:28 PM
Are you sizing your boolits?
If so, then what dia are you sizing them to?
If not, then what dia are they as cast?
Have you slugged your barrel or chamber throat?

I'm a novice too, but I've found that too big a boolit will not chamber.

243winxb
07-15-2010, 05:46 PM
Bullet diameter of .310" should work. The nose of the bullet measures .298" on mine, is your larger in diameter? Seat them deeper is what i did. :confused: When the primer fires, some powder is burnt, the rest goes against the base of the bullet, if the bullets base is below the neck, its covered by powder. (IMR 4895) http://i338.photobucket.com/albums/n420/joe1944usa/th_CastBullets_20090207_001.jpg (http://i338.photobucket.com/albums/n420/joe1944usa/CastBullets_20090207_001.jpg)

GBertolet
07-15-2010, 05:59 PM